Thursday, June 24, 2010

A Vacation from Disney...Who Does That??

Answer: I DO!! But this blog is about more than my vacation from disney. Let's go back to... Tuesday (the day before my vacation lol) Tuesday I got to evac the ride!! This was very exciting because I have always wanted to Evac the ride and I have never got to and I have been here since January. I was starting to get worried that I wouldn't get to Evac the ride ever...but I did. The ride went down at 5 (because motors that like to slack so other motors have to kick it up and it just doesnt' work really well so the ride power disconnects) and we got it going again, but then at 5:30 it went down again for the same reason (apparently it also went down earlier in the day, before I got to work) but this time when it went down, well first there was a woman and her child that got off the ride in the ride so we ran into the ride and told people to remain seated and then Laura chased them out...they had actually left the ride, like went outside backstage, and she couldn't find them but here's the kicker... the woman's husband...stayed in the ride. yeah. he just sat there... but when I got back to dispatch they said we needed to Evac so me, laura, alex, channing, and steven went in the ride (we had never evaced before...any of us) and julie was managaing and she had never evaced either lol. yay. but its not hard, you just push the button turn the train and get the people out. So we evaced the ride and then it got started at around 6:30. it was quite an adventure. I loved it. Hopefully I'll get another evac before i leave.... anyway on tuesday we also had EMH (Extra Magic Hours) so I worked until 11 (which isn't bad since usually with EMH I don't get out until like 12 or 12:15) and then I went to TGI Friday's with Margaret and Kyle but I don't do good with the food thing late at night, it makes me sick. So I got a strawberry Daquari and Brownie Obsession. Yummy. :-) Wednesday I had off so I went to Epcot in the morning because we were having a FWW (Future World West: Land, Imag, Innoventions) cast thing to welcome in Captain EO. I haven't had BBQ in so long and it was SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO good :-) Then Randi and I went to Old Key West (A Disney Resort.) Yes, my Vacation from disney was at disney. We chekced in (although we got a little lost in Old Key West...its big, okay??)Then we went swimming. Old Key West has 4 swimming pools and we hit up two of them. The main pool which was awesome!! It had a sand castle that you could go inside and it was a water slide. And it looked like a kinda sad water slide until you went on it and it was AMAZING!! for a swimming pool slide. I mean, it's not a water park slide but it was a lot bigger than we expected. Then we went to another swimming pool that we had mostly to ourselves, which was great. Then we went back to our room and ordered pizza to be delivered and it was so good!! And we watched Sweet Home Alabama, although we had to pause a lot cuz my phone kept ringing. Well, then we went to the swimming pool that was closest to our our room and unfortunately, we didn't have it to ourselves. There were actually quite a few people there, it was like 10 so everyone was getting back from the parks. But we stayed there for a while, and at this pool we hit up the hot tub. We didn't at the other two cuz it was way too hot outside to get in a hot tub, but at 10 it was pretty much perfect :-) SO then we went back and put in Tuck Everlasting and I fell asleep pretty much at the beginning. LIke at the part where Winnie meets them for the first time... and the beds were real beds... pillow top... amazing. I am not looking forward to going back to sleeping on my brick tonight lol. So today we got up at like 9 and went to Olivia's for breakfast, we had Banana Bread French Toast. It was pretty dang good. Then we went to Epcot and played for a little bit. Now I'm watching Star Wars: A New Hope and Haley is making this delicious smelling stir fry thats gonna taste amazing and we are going to go swimming tonight cuz this random outdoor food guy at Epcot wants Randi to go swimming tonight... so we're gonna go. And then I'm going to go to bed and that will be the end of my Disney Vacation. Vacations (even if you are vacationing at your place of employment...a vacation is a vacation) are so essential to your mentality. This is one of the many many things I have learned since moving to Florida. I have learned a lot about life, money, and most importantly I have learned a lot about myself. Randi and I were talking about some of these things, and she said that she could have told them to me a long time ago, which is probably true, but I realized them. Like... kick in the face kind of realization. So thats good. A Vacation from Disney...at Disney... sounds kinda crazy, but it's all good :-) Hasta!!

Monday, June 14, 2010

It's Been a While...

I know its been a really super long time since I blogged, so here we go, quick recap. Nothing to report. I go to work I come home I watch Grey's Anatomy, I sleep. At the end of May Paul and his family came to Orlando so I got to see/meet them and that was a lot of fun. :-) We have a lot of new people at work: Cat, Erick, Alex, Channing, Emiko, Calvin, and Andrea. I like them all, they are a lot of fun. Today I got pulled a 10 minute task and didn't clock back in until over an hour later. Why you ask?? Becasue i was helping a woman who spoke very limited (but not bad) English, and fluent Russian, find her "man" and although she still hadn' found him by the time I left her at guest relations (I had been trying for an hour, there wasn't anything else I could do. I had tried to call her "man" I had called a translator so we could talk better, we looked around Image, and went to Soarin' I had tried everything I could think of.) I am hopeful that she found him. He had her bag: money, phone, everything. All she had on her was a Russian/English dictionary, a notebook, and a spray bottle fan. It was exciting lol. So, I mentioned that I watch Grey's Anatomy... it's true, I have become a hopeless addict. I have falled hopelessly/helplessly in love with Alex Karev, he's beautiful and although he comes off as a jerk, he is really an absolutely amazing guy. (I am fully aware that he is a fictional character). I have also been delving into the Star Wars saga (since apparently it's vital to my existance to watch Star Wars) So far i have watched 1 and 2 and I'll get 3 from netflix on Thursday and then I'll get into the origionals. This month at Hollywood Studios has been Star Wars Weekends. As part of this they do the Cyber Space Hoopla which involves Dancing with the Star Wars Stars. and it's pretty amazing. Can I just tell you... Darth Vader can DANCE!! I'll post my movies soon, or as soon as possible...which could be a while... but I'll post them. Oh yeah, I now officially have my ticket home from Florida. I fly home on August 7. I am of course super excited to see my family and friends from home and everything, but I am going to be devestated to leave Florida. I'm going to be a blubbering mess. Oh well, it's part of life right?? I'll just enjoy the month and a half that I have left here I suppose. :-) Okay, that's all for now. Hasta!!